Blake Lively: I Just Don’t Get It

4 Apr

Sure she’s cute, she’s got the whole all-American blonde thing going for her; but in terms of becoming a fashion icon and MUSE to the likes of Karl Lagerfeld and Anna Wintour…I just don’t get it. To be perfectly honest, I would probably be more inclined to embrace Blake if she had just gone the modeling route without pretending to be an actress; she’s really awful and it’s probably tainting my judgement. Nonetheless, I don’t see the “IT” factor in her that everyone else seems to. She’s like Gisele Bundchen’s younger, more “vanilla” cousin. While searching for pictures of her to use for this entry I also discovered that she suffers from open mouth syndrome (aka the inability to close her mouth while having her photo taken). Perhaps she is too distracted by the flash?

she actually looks kind of old/tired here

Why is her hair ALWAYS a mess?

 

one word: Frumptastic

 

Bottom line, I don’t like Blake Lively. I don’t dislike her either, I really just nothing her (if that makes any sense). She’s there, like a pretty statue or a mannequin in a store window. Can someone please enlighten me as to why she’s taking the fashion world by storm?

2 Responses to “Blake Lively: I Just Don’t Get It”

  1. M.S. April 4, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    I don’t get the appeal either. She’s hardly a good actress, and her fashion sense is more vulgar than anything else. I think it’s really a case of Vogue and/or Chanel wanting to stay ‘young’ and ‘fresh’ and appeal to a wider demographic. Her ‘Gossip Girl’ costar Leighton Meester is a far better actress (and, personally, I think she’s more attractive and has a better fashion sense) yet she does not have the media attention that Lively does. Hollywood (and, apparently, the fashion world) will always go gaga for giggly, busty, sexy blondes.

  2. jane April 26, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    I don’t mean to be catty, but I honestly don’t think she’s even that pretty. She’s obviously had a nose job.

Leave a Reply

