Dearest Elizabeth…

24 Mar

Dearest Elizabeth,

Although we never got the chance to meet, I want you to know that you were (and always will be) a positive influence on my life, and I’m sure the lives of many others. Generations of women in my family looked to you for inspiration and their love and appreciation for you was passed on to me, almost instinctively. I remember watching your movie, Cleopatra with my grandmother and thinking about how beautiful and talented you were. I wanted to look like you, but later in life I realized that being like you was far more important. You were a woman that loved others passionately, which is rare regardless of fame or class distinction. I can only aspire to find love like yours in my future. Your work towards finding a cure for AIDS/HIV shows that this love branched out to those who were helpless strangers. You were their voice when they had none and I am confidant that your work will be continued with fervor and dedication. You will be missed.

 

Your forever fan,

– S xoxo

Leave a Reply

